Wonky Cottage (by the Sea)

This is my first posting for Wonky Cottage, so here’s a bit 12549136_10207567527923005_2375596005170074342_nabout me.

My name is Fiona, I am 50, divorced, newly redundant and taking on the scary world of self-employment!

I have tinkered with my craft shop for a few years now, but the day job left me with no energy and little time to plan and build my dream business, so when redundancy was offered, I grabbed it and ran….

For a little while I chickened out, applying for other jobs, worrying about my chances of getting a mortgage, but after some support from business advisors, I’ve decided to take the plunge and see if I can make crafting pay me a living at last.

I started Wonky Cottage a few months after I left an abusive marriage – it helped to keep me sane in the aftermath, and helped to put food on the table for me and my daughter while the divorce raged on. The first house we move into was like Shakespeare’s cottage, full of beams, drafts and without one straight wall, so as soon as I walked in, the shop name was born. It also seemed to represent our lives somehow, but that’s a whole other story.

It really should be Wonky Cottage By The Sea nowadays – I moved back north to be by the beach once DD left for University, and love that I can go and walk off my worries whenever I need, with the sea crashing on the sand and pebbles. I will share a few pictures with you in later posts.

I make cushion covers, seat belt covers, purses, bags, aprons and anything else you can imagine. If you want to check out my lovely stuff, here’s the link:

Etsy shop for Wonky Cottage

Other stuff you will read in my blog posts include:

  • hypermobility and Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, which runs in our family
  • The use of CBD oil, which helps with the condition above
  • Personality disorders, which I’ve become an expert in, thanks to my life experience!
  • Empty nest syndrome and life after divorce – living both at the moment 🙂
  • the odd sewing tutorial of course.

The next few weeks are going to busy for me, with lots of training sessions and seminars that will hopefully help me to be a successful business owner, so keep everything crossed for me!

4 thoughts on “Wonky Cottage (by the Sea)

    1. Currently we are using CBD Life UK, but be quick if you want to order from the UK, as the MHRA are cracking down on sellers and trying to regulate it, so it will be difficult for a while from the end of October.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment